Log in

No account? Create an account

Fri, Aug. 25th, 2006, 05:05 pm
shsilver: Sidewise Awards

This year's Sidewise Awards for Alternate History were presented at 10:00 at LACon IV. This is the eleventh time the awards have been presented. The were created in 1995 by Evelyn Leeper, Robert Schmunk, and Steven Silver. This year marked the first year that Robert was not among the final judges. The jury for this year's awards included Nick Gevers, Karen Hellekson, Evelyn Leeper, Jim Rittenhouse, Stu Shiffman, Kurt Sidaway, and Steven Silver. Karen will also be leaving the panel and the Sidewise Committee thanks both Robert and Karen for their years of service.

The winners:

Long Form: Ian R. MacLeod for The Summer Isles (Aio Publishing)
Short Form: Lois Tilton for "Pericles the Tyrant" Asimov's, October/November 2005

Ian previously won the short form award for 1998 for a shorter version of "The Summer Isles" (Asimov's, October/November 1998). Lois had a prior nomination for 2004 with her story "The Gladiator's War: A Dialogue" (Asimov's, June 2004).

Congratulations to the winners.

Fri, Aug. 25th, 2006 07:54 pm (UTC)

Thanks a *lot* for posting this. Since L.A.con IV isn't posting their daily zines and since I can't be at Worldcon this year, I'm suffering a bit from withdrawal and every bit of news posted is welcome.

Wed, Aug. 30th, 2006 10:54 pm (UTC)
rutemple: thank you for the link!

thank you - I heard about these in passing, but have been away from con-going fandom for longer than they've been around yet - nice to be able to look through the website and admire.